Mobile city

Longueuil is a mobile and connected city that meets the mobility needs of its residents by implementing sustainable and accessible methods of transportation throughout its territory. Community members are healthy and fit because the territory layout promotes active transportation. The network is safe and user-friendly for residents, workers, and visitors.

As part of the implementation of the Strategic Plan for Sustainability, Longueuil puts everything in place to achieve its Longueuil 2035 vision where:

  • Longueuil residents enjoy a variety of safe, synchronized, and complementary methods of transportation. A great deal of travel is done using the high performance, environmentally friendly public transit network. This network is rounded out by alternative methods of transportation that are adaptable to the diverse needs of the population.

  • The city promotes universal accessibility in all of its infrastructures, buildings, services, environments, communications, and equipment.

  • Urban planning promotes active transportation by methods such as walking and cycling, and reduces the distance between public transit stops. The continuity and connectivity of the various networks provide residents with unfettered access to employment, service, and entertainment districts.

  • A properly maintained road network with minimal traffic congestion points facilitates movements of both people and merchandise within and outside of the city.

  • The construction of user-friendly, ecological, and durable transit and mobility infrastructures contributes to improving the comfort of users and surrounding communities, while reducing the impacts of noise pollution, urban heat islands, and runoff.

  • The city and its partners have informed users of the importance of sharing the road and of safe behaviours on public transit vehicles.

Ville mobile

Longueuil est une ville mobile et connectée qui répond aux besoins de déplacement de sa collectivité par l'implantation de modes de transport durables et accessibles sur son territoire. La communauté y est active et en santé, car l'aménagement du territoire a priorisé les modes actifs. Cet aménagement est convivial et sécuritaire, tant pour les résidents, que pour les travailleurs et visiteurs.

Dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre du Plan stratégique en développement durable, Longueuil met tout en place pour atteindre sa vision Longueuil 2035 où :

  • Les citoyens de Longueuil profitent d'une variété sécuritaire, harmonisée et complémentaire de modes de transport. Le transport collectif permet une grande part des déplacements grâce à un réseau performant et écologique. Des alternatives de mobilité s'ajoutent à cette offre et permettent de s'adapter aux besoins diversifiés de la population.

  • La Ville tend vers l'accessibilité universelle en ce qui concerne les infrastructures, bâtiments, services, environnements, renseignements et équipements.

  • L'aménagement des quartiers favorise les déplacements actifs par des modes comme la marche et la bicyclette, et réduit les distances aux points d'accès du transport collectif. La continuité et la connectivité des différents réseaux confèrent aux résidents une grande accessibilité aux pôles d'emplois, de services et de divertissement.

  • Un réseau routier en bon état où la fluidité est favorisée grâce à une diminution des points de congestion facilite les déplacements à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur du territoire autant pour les personnes que pour les marchandises.

  • L'aménagement d'infrastructures de transport et de mobilité conviviales, écologiques et pérennes contribue à améliorer le confort des usagers et des quartiers avoisinants, tout en réduisant les impacts du bruit de la circulation, les îlots de chaleur urbains et les eaux de ruissellement.

  • La Ville et ses partenaires ont sensibilisé les usagers à l'importance du partage de la route et aux bons comportements sécuritaires.