Executive committee

Ville de Longueuil

Ville de Longueuil's executive committee is made up of the mayor and up to four councillors chosen by the mayor. The committee meets weekly, but the meetings are not open to the public.

The mayor chairs the executive committee and he designates one of the committee members as vice-chairperson. If he so chooses, the mayor may replace a committee member at any time.

The executive committee chairperson convenes meetings of the committee, chairs the meetings and oversees their smooth operation. The vice-chairperson replaces the chairperson when the latter is unavailable, or when the position of chairperson is vacant. At the request of the chairperson, the vice-chairperson may conduct any executive committee meeting.

The executive committee holds responsibilities as set out in the Cities and Towns Act and in the City Charter. The executive committee also acts for Ville de Longueuil in all circumstances where one of the municipal council's internal by-laws authorizes it so to do. The municipal council's decision to delegate an act to the executive council requires a 2/3 majority vote of council members.

The conseil d'agglomération de Longueuil can also delegate functions that fall under Ville de Longueuil's executive committee competence.

The executive committee gives its opinion on any subject, when required by law, at council's request, or through its own initiative. The executive committee's opinion is not binding on the council. It prepares and submits the following to the municipal council:

  • Draft by-laws;
  • The annual budget;
  • Any request for the allocation of borrowed monies, or for any other financing;
  • Any request for transfer of funds or financing that has already been approved;
  • Any report concerning the exchange or long-term rental of a property belonging to the municipality, including amongst others, the rental of its property, furnished or unfurnished, when the lease exceeds one year.
  • Any report on any other subject submitted by the council and that falls within the jurisdiction of the latter.

The members of the executive committee

Sylvie Parent, Mayor, president of the executive committee
Éric Beaulieu, city councillor, Arrondissement de Saint-Hubert, vice-president executive committee
Monique Bastien, city councillor, Arrondissement du Vieux-Longueuil
Éric Bouchard, city councillor, Arrondissement du Vieux-Longueuil
Colette Éthier, city councillor, Arrondissement du Vieux-Longueuil